Core Competency: Health, Safety & Nutrition

Safe With You Workshop

In 2006, the Nebraska State Legislature passed LB 994, a bill
requiring licensed child care providers to complete training that
“shall be designed to meet the health, safety and developmental
needs of children...and shall include information on sudden
infant death syndrome, shaken baby syndrome and child abuse
and neglect” (Nebraska State Statute 43-2606). Once the child
care regulations are revised and disseminated, all licensed child
care programs will need to meet these requirements. The
Departments of Health and Human Services and Education,
including the Early Childhood Training Center, have worked
together to develop these courses:

Child Abuse and Neglect -

It Could Happen to You (2 hours)

Child abuse and neglect unfortunately happens in Nebraska.
Childcare providers need to know about child abuse and
neglect, how to make a report, ways to strengthen families, and
how to prevent child abuse in their own child care program.

Trainer: Nikki Banzaf
When: Saturday, November 3, 2012
8:00 am. to 12:00 p.m.
Where: ESU 16 Conference Room
314 West st Street, Ogallala
Cost:  Child Abuse and Neglect - It Could Happen to You $10.00

Shaken Baby Syndrome  $5.00
Nothin’ But Baby - Safe Sleep for Infants $5.00

Total cost is $20 (4 hours of inservice credit)

Pre-registration required
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Shaken Baby Syndrome (1 hour)

Everyone is at risk of shaking a baby. When a baby is shaken,
the shaking can cause brain damage, cause life changing
disabilities, and even death. This is one childhood injury that is
preventable.

Nothin’ But Baby - Safe Sleep for Infants (1 hour)

Do you know how to reduce the risk of Sudden Infant Death
Syndrome (SIDS) and prevent accidental suffocation? Do you
know the safest way to put a baby to sleep? Do you have a safe
sleep policy? If you answered NO to any of these questions,
this workshop is for you.

Safe With You Registration Form

You may register for all or any of the
three training classes above.

Name

Address

City

Phone #

Email

Please register me for:
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[0 Child Abuse and Neglect - It Could Happen to You $10.00
[ Shaken Baby Syndrome $5.00
[ Nothin’ But Baby - Safe Sleep for Infants $5.00

Registration fee for each class must accompany form to
reserve your spot. Please make checks payable to ESU #16.

Send to:
Deb Frates
ESU 16
Box 915
Ogallala, NE 69153



